Nowadays, Facebook messenger become effective tools to dispatch messages, photos, and videos instantly that connects users on the Facebook network. However, using this app, you might experience unpleasant by being bothered by strangers who may try to send annoying messages.


To avoid having unwanted calls or messages to your phone or mobile device it is helps to have all the strictest privacy settings enabled. Here are the simple steps to block someone from sending you messages on Facebook.

Read: How to see hidden message in Facebook

Block someone from sending a message on Facebook using your desktop browser

You can perform this steps in the Facebook message or in Facebook chat, the steps is almost the same.

  1. Open a conversation with the person you want to block. Click options icon then select “Block Messages” in the drop-down menu.Block messages - Facebook Chat
  2. Tap Block MessagesBlock messages - Facebook Chat 2

Block someone from sending a message on Facebook using Messenger App on your mobile device

This is how to block someone from sending a Facebook message using Messenger App. Please note I am using Android device in the screenshots.


  1. Open the message or your conversation, on the top-right of the screen tap the details icon.Block Facebook Messages
  2. It will open the details screen, you may need to scroll down to see the “Block” control which is located at the bottom.Block Messages - Facebook Messenger app
  3. Tapping the block control will open another screen where you can easily toggle the on or off if you want to block the person.Block messages - Facebook Messenger 3

That’s it. Please note that blocking messages from someone is different from blocking them on Facebook. If you block messages from someone, that means they’ll no longer be able to contact you (e.g. send you messages or call you) in messenger.

You’ll also no longer be able to contact them in messenger or in Facebook chat. If you and the person you block are in a group conversation together, you’ll be notified before you enter the conversation. If you choose to enter a group conversation with the person you blocked, you’ll able to see their messages and they’ll be able to see yours in that conversation. But still you have an option to unblock him/her anytime. And if you’re wondering if they’ll know when you do so, the answer is NO; they won’t be notified that you’ve blocked them.

Read: How to know if someone has blocked you on Facebook

For more Facebook tutorials and tips like this, visit our Facebook tutorial archive.

Janese is a staff writer at EfrenNolasco.com features mostly Public Info, she loves writing Public Info to guide and broadcast to our kababayans the basic and useful information that can be use in our daily lives. She is residing in Davao City for more than a decade. She is a full time accounting staff. During her free time, you'll most likely find her wandering in the market acquiring best veg’s & fruits for her DIY fruits juicers & salad veg’s, she can do planking up to 190 seconds, or inventing her own organic skincare products from fruits & veg’s which includes facial scrubs & mask, nursing her dark spot. She wants to dedicate her life to her church obligation, to her family, and owning a charity center accessible to the public especially to the children.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.